Skip to main content

School for Enviromental Studies

 

An Innovative Approach to Education

We are strong believers that students learn best by doing.  The School for Environmental Studies (SES) at John Marshall High School provides an integrated curriculum that incorporates challenging academics, technology, field experience, and internships to prepares students for success in college and career.  As caring citizens of the world, students will graduate knowing how their local actions affect the global wold, how they can change their actions to make positive environmental changes in their daily lives, and how they can educate those around them in their communities to foster a global shift toward a sustainable and secure future for the planet.  As students pursue environmental studies, they will develop skills for collaboration, research, solving problems, and making decisions.  Their passion and commitment to the sustainable future will fuel their acquisition of writing, speaking, and expression skills.  This exploration of environmental issues will give meaning to their study of mathematics, history, science, and language arts.

 

A California Partnership Academy

The School for Environmental Studies has been recognized by the State of California for its excellence in academic achievement, acceptance into college, attention to individual student needs, and close faculty-student relationships.  Each year, our program receives additional state funding, not afforded other programs on campus, that allows us to take our students on curricular trips to visit wind farms in Palm Springs, whale watching in Long Beach, and animal/horticulture integration at the San Diego Zoo.  

 

Community Involvement

Throughout their high school journey, SES students will interact with the Marshall school community, their families, and the community at large through learning presentations, service learning projects, internships, career exploration, and research, involving a minimum of 25 hours of service each year.  During this time, students will have access to many adult role models.

Faculty Involvement Beyond the Classroom

We believe that strong teacher-student relationships improve learning outcomes.  Each SES teacher takes a vested interest in our students' successes and will provide additional support to students when needed.  Often, our faculty can be found volunteering alongside our students at community service events and leading service learning projects on weekends.  It is this dedication to providing our students real-world experiences that sets our program apart.  Additionally, when it is time to complete college and financial aid applications, our teachers will help students navigate through this process during after school workshops.


 

SES ADVISORS, COORDINATOR & COUNSELOR

Ms. Feek, SES program coordinator katie.feek@lausd.net

Mr. Roeder, SES program coordinator mlr0925@lausd.net

Jacquelyn Salcido, SES counselor jacquelyn.salcido@lausd.net (323) 671-1113

 

 

SES TEACHERS

CTE

Gilberto Lopez gilberto.lopez1@Lausd.net

English

Martha Atwell matwell@lausd.net

Daniel Badiak dbb9997@lausd.net

Jill Diamond jdiamond@lausd.net

Katie Feek katie.feek@lausd.net

Michael Hathaway mhathawa@lausd.net

Alicia Semon axs0940@lausd.net

History

Mary Merrifield mmerrifi@lausd.net

Jared Levin jpl9411@lausd.net

Jose Salas jcs9745@lausd.net

Liduina Zarate ldz8677@lausd.net

Math

Nelli Kepenyan nkepenya@lausd.net

Vanessa Vazquez mkt46922@lausd.net         

PE

Shane Gerad stg0592@lausd.net

Science

John Barrow jfb9756@lausd.net

Kevin Nagaishi knagaish@lausd.net

Monica Nagaishi mnagaish@lausd.net

Mabel Wong mjw9808@lausd.net

Special Ed

Delia Chamorro dac4414@lausd.net

Charles Mack cjm7158@lausd.net

Janell Nehrenberg j.nehrenberg@lausd.net

Mark Roeder mlr0925@lausd.net

Joseph Shields joseph.shields@lausd.net

World Languages

Tommy Carrola tcarrola@lausd.net


 For more information please visit their corresponding departments.